A Cry For Justice

The following story of surviving abuse was submitted by one of our readers.  Many, many thanks to Deborah for telling it.  TRIGGER WARNING as it contains detailed descriptions of abuse:

I have been divorced from my ex- husband for almost two years now and separated for over three. My ex husband progressively emotionally, financially, sexually, and spiritually abused me for 17 years. By the end, when all the rest stopped working for him, he was physically abusive as well.

I have so many blank spots in my mind, for the years I was with him, memories that I don’t have access to. Since leaving him, I have started talking with friends who knew us then and they began reminding me of things that happened, filling the massive gaps in my memory. When they tell me, it usually brings back the memory of the incident they raise and opens several more…

View original post 5,061 more words

